3 Comments

Sans BBQ Sauce

Tonight B and I had what I call "blasphemer delight" which is pork ribs marinated in Kosher wine.  I selected the 2006 Baron Herzog Cabernet Sauvingon Jeunesse (See Gary Vaynerchuck’s review on Wine Library TV) because it has a nice fruity taste that makes it ideal for cooking and because it’s a local winery.

Religious improprieties aside, I had another dilemma in that B does not like BBQ sauce of any kind.

Instead of BBQ sauce, I whipped up my own concoction:

  • 2 tablespoons of orange marmalade
  • 4 heaping tablespoons of red chili salsa (by "heaping" I mean the BIG spoon you use to eat Captain Crunch with)
  • 1 tablespoon of hosin sauce

This combination makes for a nice dipping sauce and the contrast in flavors gives it depth and goes well with the ribs.

B liked the sauce and dipped a couple of pieces  in it but then declared, "It’s yummy but I’m just not a sauce kind of person."

Well, if you are a sauce kind of person, give this recipe a try and let me know how it goes.

3 comments on “Sans BBQ Sauce

  1. I am a sauce kind of person, and that sounds delicious. I’ll have to give that one a go.

  2. Brandon, the best thing is that it’s very fast. There are some great recipes out there for “real” BBQ sauce but they take forever to make.

  3. I’m not a major sauce person either, BUT, I would take the Hoisin Sauce and the marmilade and pair it up with red sweet and sour chili sauce. The kind you would find in the ethnic (Chinese) aisle of the grocery store. I kinda get burned out on red chili salsa…ALTHOUGH I made tomatillo sauce last night to put on my eggs. Can’t do nude eggs anymore. Not enough flavor.

Leave a Reply

